A Small Update

Wow, it has been a while, hasn’t it? I’d just like to take this opportunity to publicly show my gratitude to Veera, who has been an absolute treasure these past couple months. She is the most steady and reliable and punctual person I know, and I appreciate her so much for keeping Paperwights up and regularly posting. 🙂 Thank you thank you thank you.

So where have I been?

In November, I went AWOL to participate in National Novel  Writing Month for the twelfth consecutive year. I wrote roughly 90,000 words in 30 days, finished a manuscript, got a solid chunk of a second manuscript done, and started a third. I like bouncing around between lots of projects at one time. And then, as if that wasn’t an exhausting amount of work…

In December, I buckled down with a completely different manuscript than any of the ones I worked on in November — WINDFALL, my steampunk adventure novel! I spent the month beating it to death with blunt objects and polishing it to a high gloss (and learning to write a synopsis, but that’s a whole different rant) in preparation forrrrrr…

January! When I brushed its hair and helped it put its tiny backpack on and sent it off to Gollancz for their open submissions period! This is the first time I have submitted a novel to a traditional publisher, and it was just as exciting and nerve-wracking as you might imagine.

So, now that those enormous tasks are done, I’m going to try to start regularly scheduled reviews again next Thursday. 😀 Stay tuned.

(Veera, I love you. Thank you so much for your support and patience these last couple months. You are a jewel.)

Comment

