Robert Heinlein: THE MOON IS A HARSH MISTRESS

Published: 1966
Winner or Rec? Hugo winner 1967
Started reading: August 25th
Finished reading: August 27th

Epic Reading Project book #18

TL;DR:
Characters = eh.  (The AI = yes, liked him.)
The worldbuilding = Yeah!
My feelings = Eh, it’s okay.

There’s a funny thing that happens with THE MOON IS A HARSH MISTRESS, which is that I always remember it as a wholly different book, sometimes in ways that don’t make sense. “Oh, isn’t that the one where they’re on Mars and — Wait, no. Moon. It’s right in the title. They’re on the moon.”

HARSH MISTRESS is the book I would probably pick to be the signature exemplar of 60’s scifi. I’ll go into more detail about this in my retrospective Trends post for this decade, but suffice it to say that the 60s were all about colonies on the Moon and Mars (and farther).

If you’ve kept up with my posts, you know I care about characters more than ideas, and I kinda think it says something about this book that my “favorite” character was the computer’s AI. Heinlein, of course, cares first about ideas.

Your mileage may vary on this one, folks. I feel bad when I write a post about a book I’m fairly apathetic about. If I hate it, at least I can rant entertainingly. If I love it, I can talk about why. Apathy? Neither.

Comment

