Fritz Leiber: THE BIG TIME

Published: 1958
Winner or Rec? Hugo winner.
Started reading: July 26, 2014
Finished reading: July 27, 2014

Epic Reading Project book #9

Alright, I’m going to be honest here. And this is a scary kind of honesty, a vulnerable kind of honesty. Because I have to admit… I did not understand or like this book. It’s in first person, from the POV of a character I found instantly and immediately annoying. For all Leiber’s strengths (and he does have a good few, which I’ll talk about later when we get to ILL MET IN LANKHMAR), he cannot write a female character to save his life. Even in first person, he can’t do it.

And the book is about a time war, for god’s sake — can you blame me for getting confused and muddled up? But because of that confusion, because of how much I do not understand this book, I cannot in good conscience rec or anti-rec it. It’s one of those times where I just have to sort of shrug hugely and suggest you try it out yourself. And this is probably one of those books I’ll have to revisit in five or ten years.

 

Comment

