Robert Heinlein: DOUBLE STAR

Published: 1956
Winner or Rec? Hugo winner.
Started reading: July 25th, 2014
Finished reading: July 26th, 2014

Epic Reading Project book #8

DOUBLE STAR about an actor who was hired to impersonate a political figure who had fallen ill until he recovered, and if you know me at all, you know I have a deep, lifelong affection for thieves, rogues, and con artists. This book scratches the itch but, I have to say, only just. It’s well planned, well executed, not a difficult book to pay attention to, has a rather entertaining unreliable narrator… But it doesn’t set my heart on fire like it could have.

Like Asimov, Heinlein isn’t great with female characters. I only remember one that had a name, among a cast of a good half dozen or more male characters — she was the secretary, she was in love with her boss, and I seem to remember that she spent a lot of time crying… Meh.

Despite my quibbles, it ain’t bad. Heinlein, although his female characters leave much to be desired, didn’t aggressively alienate me the way Asimov did. THE FOUNDATION TRILOGY made me froth at the mouth with frustration, and DOUBLE STAR… didn’t. At least DOUBLE STAR gave me an interesting main character I could root for.

As I said, it ain’t bad. But as I also said, it didn’t set my heart on fire. Your mileage may vary.

Comment

